Tina K. Russell

June 4, 2008

I start by talking about throttling, and finish by complaining about tech-news websites themselves

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , — Tina Russell @ 11:44 pm

ARPANet architect: bring “fairness” to traffic management

This is a step in the right direction, but I still think it’s kind of a bad idea. I would imagine the best way to manage traffic among users of an ISP is to ensure that your connection isn’t slowed by others’ heavy use; that is to say, safeguards probably shouldn’t kick in until conflicts emerge and we need a fair algorithm to decide who is due some extra bandwidth. This way, your P2P downloads won’t be slowed until Granny next door needs to check her e-mail. She won’t notice, and you’ll only notice to the extent that others need some space at the Internet trough.

Of course, maybe that is the guy’s plan, and it’s eluded me due to Ars Technica’s aggravatingly dense writing style that requires you to read an article three times and backwards before gleaming the facts from it. I was a little dissappointed to find Condé Nast (their new corporate overlords) saying they wouldn’t change a thing about Ars’s culture; I would rather like them to put some grownups in charge of the zoo.

Is there a way I can read interesting tech news stories, written for a general audience, that are (a) not delivered to me by an algorithm easily subverted by Ron Paul fanatics with cybernetic rapid-clicking implants and delusions of grandeur, (b) accurate, that is to say not Slashdot, (c) not constantly showing off its snark like a parading peacock, instead presenting the facts and letting me form my own opinion, even if I’m aware a tech site is always going to have a tech and individual-freedom slant, and (d) not in the pocket of its own advertisers, or otherwise completely cynical about the job that it’s doing? I suspect the problem is that programmers aren’t writers, and writers aren’t programmers, so any attempt to meet these criteria easily miss the mark. I would, however, like to see some writers passionate about technology craft a tech-news site that treats me like an adult.

Maybe there is one, and I simply do not know of it. Any suggestions?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

